Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (6) - Books (1)

Insidious review

Posted : 6 years ago on 23 November 2011 07:33 (A review of Insidious)

Insidious is the classic film that keeps the veiwed glued to the screen, and is full of scenes that makes a person miss a heartbeat....I thought the storyline was good to a point.
It lost me when it came to the old women explaining the causes for what was happening to Dalton...my immediate question was, How does she know all this?
But then I had to remind myself that this was just a film. Anything can happen in films!!
The Exorcist was a very low budget movie, but had me crappin' my pants, and seemed very beleivable.
Insidious kept my gripped to a point.
Watch the movie, tell me if you felt the same...
Thanx for reading this review.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pandorum review

Posted : 6 years ago on 15 November 2011 10:25 (A review of Pandorum)

I would describe Pandorum as 'Descent' in space with a twist.
I thought the writer and director of this movie really tapped into the'fear factor'.
The thought of waking up from hyper sleep, disoriented, unsure of the status.
Then realising your not alone.
Alien captured that same fear.
Pandorum adds fear times 100.
On top of that, one crew member, Payton, is suffering dillusins, something that has put the whole ship in danger.
All actors involved make a good account of the storyline in that the performance make the viewer imagine what it must be like to face their worst fears.
On top of that, the ending has left an oppotunity for the story to be continued......I recommend this movie...not for the faint hearted.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Hurt Locker review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 13 November 2011 07:35 (A review of The Hurt Locker)

The Hurt Locker. A powerful insight as to what faces the armed forces based in Iraq have to experience.
The plot follows three soldiers belonging to a bomb disposal unit.
What intriqued me was the absense of any indepth plot surrounding the unit.
The Hurt Locker mainly focuses on one key issue...Sergeant First Class William James and his ability to switch off his normal life while defusing IED's, disregarding saftey protocols which left his fellows soldiers bemused.
When asked 'how do you do it?, his reply was...'i dont know'.
Then towards the end of the movie he is pictured with his family, playing with his young son, helping his wife make dinner etc.
The closing scene sees him in his protective gear, walking towards an IED as if he didnt have a care in the world.
I felt the movie left me with this thought...Soldiers can become desensatised by what they see and experience during war...to the point were normality takes a back seat.
Very powerful. Very sad.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Mystery of the Green Ghost (Three Investigators Classics) review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 12 November 2011 11:12 (A review of The Mystery of the Green Ghost (Three Investigators Classics))

Alfred Hitchcock had a series of books called The Three Investigators and the Mystery of.....
When I was about 12 or 13, these books kept me riveted, I remembered my mother taking my to the local library to change the books.
The stories revolved around three lads who fancied themselves as P.I's.
I would highly recomend thses books to anyone...young or old, as they capture the imagination, with me, I think this series of books lit a desire to write in a similar vein.
The writing is simplistic, no use of long dis-interesting words, but plain. This, I found, enabled me to visualise myself as one of the thre investigators.
Surley, this is what books are designed to do!!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Cloverfield review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 12 November 2011 09:37 (A review of Cloverfield)

What can I say about Cloverfield?
The plot was suspensefull, I have to say that because there was so much destruction and mayhem and no sign of the culprit!!!
I understand the novelty of shooting a movie through to eyes of someone using a camcorder, but thats all I got out of my viewing experience.
At times I felt nausiated because of the instability of the camcorder, reminisant of a wedding video I watched not so long ago :(
Because of this, I found myself losing concentration, thus losing interest in the plot. This method of filming has been done before. Lets not do it again...Please.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Predators review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 12 November 2011 09:08 (A review of Predators)

Predators. What can I say. Firstly they got the lead actor completely wrong! Adrien Brody of King Kong. Wow!!
He just didnt cut it as a tough guy, and as for clichés, way too many.
The movie plot was weak, no storyline and nowhere near as suspenseful as 'Predator', although I did like the numerance references to the original Predator, the closing song being one of them.
I did think the movie was picking up pace when Laurence Fishburne made an appearance. It didnt.
I felt let down by his movie, even though I am well aware that 'follow ons' rarely match up to the original.
I watched it at the cinema when it first came out and again on the tv just recently, my opinion hasn’t changed.
Stll, very very disapointing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Predators review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 12 November 2011 09:05 (A review of Predators)

Predators. What can I say. Firstly they got the lead actor completely wrong! Adrien Brody of King Kong. Wow!!
He just didnt cut it as a tough guy, and as for cliches, way too many.
The movie plot was weak, no storyline and nowhere near as suspenseful as 'Predator', although I did like the numerance refferences to the original Predator, the closing song being one of them.
I did think the movie was picking up pace when Laurence Fishburne made an appearance. It didnt.
I felt let down by his movie, even though I am well aware that 'follow ons' rarely match up to the original.
I watched it at the cinema when it first came out and again on the tv just recently, my opinion hasnt changed.
Stll, very very disapointing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block